County Profiles

According to the U.S. Census Bureau just over 310,000 people reside across the 10.5 million acres that make up Michigan’s Upper Peninsula U.P. United by the privileges and challenges presented by living, working, retiring and recreating in the U.P, the area is separated into three federal districts. The Eastern UP (18% of the total population) includes the counties of Chippewa, Luce, and Mackinac. The Central UP (56% of the total population) is made up of Alger, Delta, Dickinson, Marquette, Menominee, and Schoolcraft counties. The Western UP (26% of the total population) comprises Baraga, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, and Ontonagon. Each region has its relative advantages. To learn more about the top employers, the employers who export, quality of life and other community and economic attributes in each regional county, please use the map or links above.


Download County Profile Data Sheet